LDS V-8900 Shaker Table

bk_shaker

Years ago, I had the opportunity to perform hands-on shaker table testing, mostly for avionics components.  That was a great learning experience.  Alas, that opportunity has gone, but I am still involved writing software and providing training for test engineers.

LDS was one of the shaker manufacturers during my testing days.  LDS has since merged with Bruel & Kjaer.

I met my colleague Joel Leifer at an engineering conference recently.  He informed me about a new LDS shaker model, which has a 4 inch displacement stroke.  This would be very useful for low frequency shock and vibration tests.  Videos and further information is given at:  Video Link

* * *

Joel wrote:

I am interested in working with the space community as they define test requirements as this could be the tool they have been looking for to do some of the harder tests. Any advice or guidance you could give will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your attention to this.

Regards,

Joel Leifer, PE
District Manager (Western Region) VTS
Bruel & Kjaer North America
8566 Van Ness Ct Unit 24F
Huntington Beach, CA 92646
Direct: 817 475-2329

So please contact Joel if you are interested in collaboration, etc.

I was going to ask Joel to provide a demo model for me so that I could do some science projects at my home, but my wife would never let me keep a shaker table in our garage :)

– Tom Irvine

2 thoughts on “LDS V-8900 Shaker Table

  1. I admit that would be fun, but I guess you would have surprised your Wife Even more when the whole garage foundation would have to be remodeled to increase stiffness.

  2. Pingback: Some Nonlinear Vibration Test Data | Vibrationdata

Leave a Reply

