Bose QuietComfort 3 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones

Amazon Product Link: Bose QuietComfort 3 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

I have take several business trips lately with more to come.  One of my pet peeves is hotel room noise from HVAC systems, especially during sleeping hours.

Some of this noise is inevitable.  But the engineers who design these systems could mitigate this noise by using plenum chambers in the ducts, installing barriers between air condition units and the hotel rooms, and taking other measures.

During my last hotel stay, I reached an exasperation point and went to an electronics store to purchase a Bose Noise Cancelling Headphone set.  The headphones did an excellent job of attenuating the HVAC noise which was mostly low-frequency noise.  I was also able to play my hypnosis/guided imagery relaxation/healing sound files from my mp3 player through the headphones.

I wore the headphones as I went to sleep.  Yes, this was awkward and required some careful adjustment of my arms and the pillow, but the noise-cancellation was a worthwhile trade-off.

The headphones also performed well during the return trip on the airplane, although some high-frequency noise seeped through.  I played Wagner’s Tannhauser through the headphones during the ride.  The bass response was terrific, especially during the kettledrum sections.

I am also using the headphones at work.  They do a great job attenuating the automobile traffic noise from outside of my office window.

I recommend this product.

Amazon Product Link: Bose QuietComfort 3 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones

– Tom Irvine

One thought on “Bose QuietComfort 3 Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones

  1. Pingback: HVAC Noise in Hotels | Vibrationdata

Leave a Reply

