Python on Linux

I have installed Linux Ubuntu on my 64-bit Windows PC, turning it into a dual boot configuration.

The link is:  http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/windows-installer

* * *

I have also installed the Linux versions of Python & Spyder.

Here is a Python installation method from Nick Smith:

Part of the beauty of switching to Python is how cross-platform it is. While pythonxy hasn’t finished a linux build yet, installing spyder is pretty easy in Ubuntu:

sudo apt-get install python-sphinx python-scipy python-matplotlib spyder

Note: All you really need is spyder, but adding python-sphinx allows you to have rich text in your documentation which looks nice and in my opinion is easier to read. The packages python-scipy and python-matplotlib may be optional, but I use them in my tutorials, so I would recommend including those as well.

Reference: http://www.et.byu.edu/~nas52/blog/?p=24

Leave a Reply

